Game The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles

The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles
Developer: Bethesda Game Studios

Publisher: Bethesda Softworks, 2K Games

Engine: Custom Gamebryo engine using SpeedTree Technology, Radiant A.I., Havok 3.0 physics and FaceGen technology

Platforms: Xbox 360, Windows, PlayStation 3

Release date: October 2007

Genre: Action role-playing, sandbox

Mode: Single-player

Distribution: DVD, download


The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles

The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles is the largest official expansion pack for the role-playing game The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. Announced on January 18, 2007, the expansion was developed, published, and released over the Xbox Live Marketplace by Bethesda Softworks; its retail release was co-published with 2K Games. It was released for Microsoft Windows in a boxed retail edition on March 26, 2007, while the Xbox 360 version was released digitally on the Xbox Live Marketplace. Shivering Isles takes place on the eponymous isles ruled by the Daedric Prince of Madness, Sheogorath. The player becomes Sheogorath's protégé, and together they try to defeat the Daedric Lord of Order, Jyggalyg, thus preventing the isles from being destroyed; this main quest can be ignored as long as the player wishes to interact with the new world.

Shivering Isles changes none of the basic gameplay of Oblivion; the basic design, maneuvers, and interfaces remain unchanged. As such, it is a fantasy-based role-playing adventure game. Players begin Oblivion by defining their character, deciding on its skill set, specialization, physical features, and race. The player gains experience points through the practice of specific skills, such as gaining archery experience by practicing archery. This goes against standard role-playing game form, where any skill use garners generic experience points that may be put towards any type of specialization. Enemies increase in difficulty as players strengthen their skills, scaling the game's challenge to the players' strength.

As with the original game, The Shivering Isles is an example of open-ended or sandbox-style gameplay. The main quest may be delayed or completely ignored as the player explores the game world, follows side quests, interacts with non-player characters, and develops a character according to their taste. Once the game is updated the player can access the extra content at any time with any character.


The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles screenshots


The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles video